Hillsboro Inlet Jetty Decking Textures & Rust

hillsboro-jetty-bolt-and-wood_7124-wps

I suppose in many ways photographers are a strange bunch! No matter what we think our particular area of interest is, it seems we cannot resist aiming our viewfinders at anything that looks interesting in the way of color, design, or texture. (Not just me right?) If it looks remotely cool, I mean! This is why one must never leave one’s camera home!! You never know what grungy or lovely thing might appear serendipitiously.

This particular day I had just intended to take a friend out to Hillsboro Light, to stand on the jetty decking and aim at the lighthouse across the inlet or passing vessels.

Some of these images look a bit like I had flash but it was just the high angle of the sun on a rather hot day. I hope that you enjoy the textures, after all who doesn’t like rust, rot and decay? Think of what the Lighthouse has weathered, standing so staunchly for so long when you look at these colorfully rusted nuts and bolts.

They say that rust is the best corrosion protection in certain situations, but I am dedicating this post to my brother, Darby Howard, who coincidentally enough is a Corrosion Control Engineer. Here is a link to JDH Corrosion Consultants, Inc. and his team of talented engineers. I must come by this naturally!!

hillsboro-jetty-deck-bolt_7126-wps

While rust is typically very orange, I loved the
purples and burgundy hues on this rusty bolt.

hillsboro-jetty-deck-feather_7112-c-wps

I loved the textures of the fallen gull's feather
against the rusted bolt and weathered wood.

hillsboro-inlet-jetty-deck-texture-g_7118-wps

Here I thought the weathered wood looked very 
feathery like a bird's feathers.

hillsboro-jetty-deck-bolt-mg_7115-wps

Hillsboro Jetty Rusted bolt 7095

hillsboro-jetty-pier-bolt-and-wood_7129-wps

_hillsboro-jetty-deck-with-bridge-mg_7182-wps

This is a context view of the beams covering
the jetty rocks. This view looks back at the
Hillsboro Inlet Bridge up for passing vessels.

~ by Judy on October 9, 2016.

30 Responses to “Hillsboro Inlet Jetty Decking Textures & Rust”

  1. Beautiful images!

  2. Judy, Nice “grunge”. Would probably work well as a background texture. Jack

    • You remember that day?! Well, I have uploaded a collection of these to Alamy to be available for a grunge or textured background…or as they are if someone NEEDS rust!! I have used wood textures and other grungy things overlayed on photos for texture. Concrete is good too.

  3. Decay is often so beautiful – lovely colours and textures.

    • It is true. Scads of people take pictures of old buildings and the chaos of decay inside of them. I do love that kind of thing. And, the ‘wrinkles’ are amazing.

  4. You have no idea how much I love the first paragraph, since it justifies what I’m going to do to a certain photographer I know in the next chapter of “As the Wyrm Tyrns”!

  5. Judy, this is such an original idea, resulting in these unique and marvelous photos of objects or scenes that most of us will look at without ever seeing them. Kudos to you!

    • Yeah and I was feeling old too…walking along those beams like they were balance beams and I was completely untrained!! There is quite a bit of space between them. But, I have always liked textures. You should see all the tree bark pictures I have and various fungi and lichens etc on wood. I will say that having a camera changes you and suddenly everything is interesting through the view finder. It will make you more aware of your world and its strange beauties.

      • Welcome to the club! 👲

      • That reminds me of my recent visit to see my mother at her new digs at the assisted living place. The group was doing an art project at the time. I have a severe hearing problem and was having trouble understanding one of the aides. When I finally got it, all the old folks gave me the thumbs up…I fit right in!!

  6. Oh how pleased I am to see these photos! Though my usual ‘distraction’ by way of unusual shots tend to be studies of tree-bark, these of old wooden planks are in the same vein.Except yous are much better than mine. I particularly like the feathered grain.

    • Yeah even as I was taking the picture, the weathering reminded me of bird feathers. Textures are fun actually. I have quite a few tree bark images too. Everywhere I go in between the birds there are lots of textures, trees, ferns, boardwalks….thanks goodness for digital….could not afford that much film.

      • Memories of using film. 36 exposures. I went through two in the caves in Cheddar gorge, and would have used more but that’s all i had on me. Though they weren’t digital, I did scan them into my system and played with the colours (freaky stalactites!) on the same problem (earlier version) as I still use today for most of my graphics. My daughter calls me snap happy. I’m not. It’s just I see potential in so many things. And now with digital . . . well, say no more.

  7. The first photo looks rather like a squishy frog, and the feather-like patterns in the fourth are bird-like to my eye. They’re all wonderful, and reminders of boat yards I have known.

    A bit of humor: perhaps because I spent my first night in Arkansas trying to get WordPress to play nice with my wifi,and failing, I read your title as “Hillbilly inlet.” Bad of me? Perhaps. But funny.

    • There could be some hillbillies that use the inlet? Every time I pull up the post that first photo looks like a hamburger to me albeit a rusty one. And those fingerlike wood projections to the left like a hand going for it!! It’s like looking at clouds or ink spots with textures…every one has a different perception.

  8. Hi Judy – Outstanding composition, the colors and textures ade so rich. And, um, are you positive that’s a Gull feather, I’m viewing on my phone, which is less than optimal, and my eyes are also less than optimal, too, these days. Best, Babsje

    • Well, I could be wrong about the feather. There are a lot of gulls around the jetty, but there are other birds too. I have a collection of feathers for a still life I have yet to do and most I am ashamed to say I don’t know which bird it came from (or forgot) and the one which came from an ibis, I am not sure I know exactly which one that is now in the group. The only distinctive feather I ever found, which I saw fall as the bird flew up, came from a Great Blue Heron. You would love it. At the time I sent it to my granddaughter for a treasured keepsake before I read that you aren’t allowed to own a Great Blue Heron feather.

      Thanks for the nice comment on the textures. I know about less that optimal eyes. But, cataracts are out and new lenses in and so much better even with a couple side effects. A wonderful thing!! Good luck to you on your vision…its precious.

      • Somehow I missed seeing your reply, apologies! Fantastic that you saw a GBH feather being shed and that you gave it to your granddaughter. I don’t think the feather police will track her down, but yes, they are forbidden – even though Herons naturally molt. It’s great to hear that your cataracts are out, and things are improved for you. My own vision is weird – I have double-vision at times, which makes for interesting photography outings – I never know which of the two Herons should be the point of focusing, and sometimes I individually focus on both, just to be safe. There’s always auto-focus when things get extra wonky! Best, Babjse

  9. You have managed to capture the beauty that can be found in rust so well and in so many variations. Thank you.

  10. Psst Judy – You’re the Judy mentioned in my post, here: https://babsjeheron.wordpress.com/2017/02/14/beautiful-great-blue-heron-love-for-valentines-day/ Best. Babsje

    • Ah, you are so sweet to do so. It is a joy to be included as one who appreciates the majestic Great Blue Heron. Great blue heron people have to stick together!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  11. Nice photos, you have an eye for catching some unique looking natural forms

    • Thank you for your visit and commenting! Nature does offer many interesting textures and geometries. It is fun when something interesting catches your eye!!

Leave a comment