Adult Wood Stork Portrait with Canvas Texture

 

I had planned on working with some of the other species from my last shoot but before moving on from the Wood Storks, I was attracted to this handsome adult Wood Stork image with its lovely late day lighting.  While I first planned to crop tightly for this image, I liked its body position relative to  the branches and just treated it as a whole. This did mean getting rid of some distracting elements so that the lovely light and texture of the bird were the main focus. My one concession to art in this one was the addition of texture layers just to give it a canvas look.  I find when I visit the rookery, the light in the beginning is not the same as just before sundown, and I often find myself stopping at the same nests just because the light is prettier. Luckily the birds are pretty cooperative about the whole thing.

Hope everyone’s weekend was relaxing as the work week looms!!

 

Judy

 

~ by Judy on April 30, 2017.

22 Responses to “Adult Wood Stork Portrait with Canvas Texture”

  1. I’m first! I’m first! And I have nothing intelligent to say beyond saying I like the picture. 🙂

    • I need to get you a gold star for being first! There should be some sort of reward!! Glad you liked the handsome dude!! Considering it was a nice picture to start with, I took me longer than necessary to work on it. In fact my whole weekend has been only doing laundry and sitting at the computer. That is the thing about all the great photo hiking…you follow up with even more hours sitting!! Grrrr!! That was not the plan!

      • I would take pity on you, Judy, but I suspect you enjoyed the effort, too. (Sitting at the computer, I mean — no one enjoyed laundry.)

      • Busted I guess!!! I has been so long since my head has really been into it that it just felt good wanting to work on images!! Now laundry, folding fluffy newly dried clothes and sheets can be relaxing actually. Feels like a sense of order in the soul or something. Maybe it is a girl thing more than a guy thing.

    • Thank you, Brian, for the first smile of May.

  2. I’ve never seen that canvas texture before. It’s impressive, and expressive.

    • I am glad you find it expressive and I do think texture can add something to an image or even change its feel. I like grunge textures a lot too although I can think of only once I grunged a bird. The canvas texture gives an idea of what the image might be like if you had it printed on canvas as opposed to smooth paper.

  3. That treatment really works for the Wood Stork . . . makes him look even more of the prehistoric creature. And, yes, to the light. Though living in the northern latitudes, we get a great variance according to season. From late September through to Winter Solstice the sun is tracking south. But Christmas it’s very low in the sky, as if it’s sill morning (or evening). Though it’s not as extreme as in Scotland . . . or Iceland . . . going through my winter-took photos, I was see the difference. Colours seem richer . . . when I cut through the dense mists!

    • In general I favor late day for the warm tones the sun gives. But, anytime the sun is at your back instead of facing into it, the colors will be wonderful, rich and not washed out. Sometimes at the rookery, that light from the west hits the birds much like a flash shot might. Seems very 3D.

      • I’m finding mornings and evenings are about the same as the winter months . . . the sun is low, and it rakes across the land casting defining shadows, plus the light tends more towards ‘gold’ . . . though whether that’s just my imagination, I don’t know.

      • I find in winter around here that sometimes you get light filtered through thin layers of clouds. And, that can be very nice because it reduces the contrast of harsh shadows and can often produce a nice very even picture.

      • As happened for me this weekend . . . after a fine start, the cloud came in. Unfortunately, so too did the mist, and I was sill close enough to the sea (within 10 miles of) for it to resemble billows of smoke! Icy cold on the skin, time to call it a day.

      • Sounds moody though!! When I visited my brother in California, the weather could change on a dime like that. All sunny and nice then mist off the sea.

      • Sun in the morning, storm by noon, gales before bedtime, and then overnight snow. And that’s in the summer (kidding, but yea, our weather can change in a matter of minutes.)

  4. This is such a beautiful shot, Judy!

    • Thanks Jill!! I always like it when a great subject sits in great lighting. I go out late afternoon/ end of day when I can as the lighting isn’t just flattering to people, but the just about everything. Not quite the Golden Hour, but close.

  5. I like this portrait a lot. I’m still undecided about the canvas texture, but this is the first time I’ve looked at any of your work on my iPad. It’s great for sitting in a car dealership waiting for service to be completed (which I am) but maybe not so great for looks at photos! I’ll look again when I get home, and see how it looks on my computer.

    I certainly appreciate the discussion about light. I’ve discovered that even 10 in the morning can be too late. Now that the days are getting longer — much longer! — I need to arrange my whole life differently so I can get out and about earlier, or stay out later.

    I grinned at your reference to that time at the computer, too. Just sorting out photos can be more time consuming than I ever imagined. Of course, when you accidentally delete 400 photos from your camera’s card, things get even more interesting. I knew as soon as I’d done it — talk about seeing your life flash before your eyes as you see that supposedly “empty” folder actually filled with disappearing images.

    But — I also learned a secondary lesson: that you can get those deleted images back. Otto Munchow told me that. I found a free restore program on CNET, downloaded it, and got every image back. Actually, I got about 3,000 images back. Every image that ever had been on that card, going back to my trip to Kansas last fall, got restored. It was the most amazing thing I’ve ever seen. I’m still not quite over it all.

    • Oh Wow!! I have never tried any restoration of photos after deletion, accidental or on purpose. Does it work if you reformatted the card too? Accidental deletion and reformatting might not be the same thing.

      The picture does look wonderful without the canvas texture too. Sometimes I put texture on just to see what an image would be like if I had it printed on canvas…which I do like quite a bit with the more portrait oriented bird images. And sometimes, if it is a more grunge thing, it is more for the new character it gives rather than a look see. I just like that picture and the slant of the sun producing the soft light. When I have choice I go out late day, maybe two or even three hours before sunset to walk around and scope out the nests that interest me the most. The hour before sunset is often called the golden hour for its wonderful warm light courtesy of the descending sun. The other hour that gets a name is the hour on the other side called the blue hour and that is the time where the sky is deepening blue but before the black of night. And that produces wonderful images too since often a lighthouse will be turned on during that time but photographically I find it prettier to get the light with some hints of color left in the sky. A good time for low light scenes. At least with the late sunsets in the summer time, there is more time after work to go shooting!!

      Well, on the iPad, I find everything looks great on an iPad! I love looking at my own images or anyone’s on an iPad…that screen is gorgeous.

      • What saved me what that I hadn’t reformatted the card. In fact, I’ve never reformatted a card. I suppose I should figure out if that’s something I’m supposed to be doing. All things considered, I’m lucky I hadn’t!

      • After I’ve offloaded images in two places, I do reformat them before shooting again.

  6. Just beautiful the light and the whole composition Judy, must feel good to be out and about with the birds.

    • Yes, it always does. I regret not going more often than I do as I get a sense of peace wandering the rookery. Most often I visit late day for that lovely lighting. I tend to go a bit too early so many times it can be a later visit to the same nest that is irresistible to shoot again as the light changes. Thank you for the good feedback on the composition as with the ease of crop or zoom there are so many ways to go. This one is the full file with just a little clean up of distracting elements in the way.

Leave a Reply

 
