While I have been away the Wood Storks have taken over the rookery!

 

Wood Stork dozes the afternoon away keeping its chicks nice and warm.

Last Saturday marked my first trip to visit the rookery at Wakodahatchee Wetlands in Delray this bird season. Life does get in the way sometimes and I was longing for a little respite and Mothers Nature’s help in leaving the hurried world and my worries behind. For years I visited and wished that the shy Wood storks which tended to return each season out here to the more distant islands would get more comfortable with the spots within my camera range. About three years ago (maybe 4) there was some disturbance in the outer areas with the plants, overgrowth, insects and necessary maintenance. That year the first of this very large species of wading birds set up housekeeping closer in. It was truly exciting to see for the first time, baby Wood storks. Since that time, regardless of the far off places, the Wood storks have come to dominate the rookery while raising their very hungry chicks. I did not see Great Blue Herons and other species in as great numbers as usual, maybe it was just the timing as the Great Blues do tend to nest early and the chick of theirs I noticed were fledglings or nearly so. In nature anytime nature or disruption of habitat forces changes something gets displaced…maybe everyone else has scooted over to make way for these interesting giants.

I find this species to be dramatically regal and would point you to other posts I have made about them over the last couple of seasons for a little more information on them than I have presented with these images.

Baby Wood storks feeding sequence443 pounds of fish and it shows Its wood stork nesting season A cute preen

 

Wood storks have most assuredly taken over the rookery. This 
image shows two neighboring nests with diligent parents and young.

 

An attractive pose of an attentive Wood stork parent
watching over its chicks in the colony.

This young fellow stretches its wings while having a chat
with its sibling.

 

An adult wood stork stands atop its pond apple tree
nesting island preening and showing off its pretty pink
feet and stylish black toe nails.

Truly good to be back in the land of the Wood Storks and look forward to the change of occupancy when the White Egrets and Louisana Herons settle in.

Judy

~ by Judy on April 13, 2017.

19 Responses to “While I have been away the Wood Storks have taken over the rookery!”

  1. Great post! Love the pics!

    • Thank you for dropping by and the nice comment. This species is always interesting to me even though my husband is at a loss to see why I love the “bald” birds!! 🙂

      • You are welcome! I married The Bird Man and he loves them all! He has uploaded over 20,000 bird sightings to Cornell!

      • My goodness, how cool is that!!! If I saw one of his images at Cornell would it show The Bird Man as attribution? I would watch for his images then.

      • No, it is just a lot of records. People from all over the world send these records in. But his book, “Fiddling at Middnight’s Farmhouse will be available on Amazon soon! He also writes poetry.

      • I will watch for the book…I love poetry.

  2. Judy,
    Well crafted story and typically lovely images.
    Jack

    • Glad you took a look. You were actually with me that year when the wood storks were making homes in the closer in islands for the first time. It was March as I recall and I was really happy to see them so near.

  3. Spectacular photos, Judy!

    • OH, thanks Jill! It was great to be back out there watching the activity and with my camera. Seemed like forever since I’d visited!

  4. It’s so good to see a post from you, and I’m just thrilled that wood storks are the subject. Ever since seeing my first ones at our refuge, I’ve been longing to get another glimpse of these wonderful birds, but it hasn’t happened. I suppose if I were to go to one of the rookeries I’d have a better chance!

    No matter. None of us can be everywhere, and since I have your photos to enjoy — and envy — I’ll be content for the time being. Bluebonnets and wood storks don’t inhabit the same neighborhood, and this year I made the choice for bluebonnets.

    Happy Easter to you and yours!

    • Happy Easter back at you!! I hope to spend some of my Easter weekend watching some wild Easter chicks at the rookery. Have to go back!!!

      If you do have a rookery nearby where you are, do go. Watching the mating rituals and hungry chicks clamoring for food is really fun and interesting. Sometimes you want to put the camera down and just enjoy the lively process. Well, for a minute.

  5. Good to see you back, Judy!

    • Thanks so much!! Good to have a chance to visit the birds again and maybe even get around to some still live images I have in mind to do!!

  6. Judy, the pictures are exquisite!  And I love your running commentary.  You are a treasure! Keep that camera clicking. Happy Easter!

  7. I particularly like the picture of the two siblings.

    • Yeah, thanks. I liked the pose of the first sibling that they seemed to be quite amiable. Of course I think they were all pretty sated from a recent meal of fish.

  8. OMG so beautiful Judy so lovely to see those baby chicks flourishing.

Leave a Reply

 
