Woodstork Portrait & LR play on Green Heron Scene

 

Woodstork Portrait_0940-41-wps-2

More later on this but I have been working hard getting started with a stock photography site to try and sell some of my images and put them to good use. So I’ve been a bit sluggish with putting up new things here on WordPress. For the stock photo items I’ve been endeavoring to select images which I thought had some impact or told a story or were a good representation of the activity or bird. So in the process I’ve run across images I never did anything with and have decided to use along with ones I’ve already worked on. See the side bar for my barely gotten started page on Alamy. The link goes to my images so far but if you search there you’ll see other peoples images come up as well. Stock is mostly about keywording for what a client needs for a project rather than necessarily being a specific photographer/contributor oriented. I plan to post more information about Alamy after I’ve had a little more experience but it seems to be a good stock site with respectful treatment to the photographer/contributors. I have more uploaded but they won’t show for a couple of days while they QC and I then work on various fields.

I just thought I’d post this image of a wood stork in a nice pose. I get stuck on pictures sometimes for the craziest reasons….like I love the feet on this one and that fly on the leg. At the time the bird was actually close enough that I couldn’t fit the whole thing in one shot from were I was standing, so this is actually a composite of two shots taken with the intention of seeing if I could make one complete detailed image. So its pretty big and the blend worked very well. It is a late day shot which I have brought up the light on but might look a little dark still.   So this was a little work and I hope it’ll be useable in the end since I like so many of the details and the pose. There were some purplish areas in the sky which I know were late day clouds but I thought they looked icky so made some color corrections. Not that I don’t like purple sunrise or sunset colors…just here nope!

So this might still be a work in process and since I’ve only done laundry today and worked on Alamy uploading I might be too bleary eyed to be the judge. Just thought I’d share…..I mean aren’t those great legs!!! Maybe this will go into Lightroom for a tweak test too. Making progress on learning Lightroom and it actually gives me some different things than my current system. Was working on an older picture the other day that I couldn’t get right lighting wise…and in LR I found a combination of lighting that made it look very nice. Well colorful anyway.  In fact just decided to go and get it. It is a green heron which was standing in the pneumatophores under of black mangrove tree but the lighting was dark and uninteresting..no mood at all despite the great sounding setting. But lets see how it looks here: probably more lively than the woodstork. Well the learning never ends!

 

Green Heron _F6A2045-wps-2

Sorry for the sluggish presence lately because I love WordPress and keeping up with everyone here!!

 

Thanks,

Judy

 

 

~ by Judy on August 13, 2016.

27 Responses to “Woodstork Portrait & LR play on Green Heron Scene”

  1. Wow! What a handsome fella! Great shot, Judy!

    • Thanks! When I saw the stance on the bird right away I knew I liked it. Now didn’t spot the fly on the leg but that is just a little reality plus. I tend to like portraits that do show the entire bird even though that isn’t always what happens.

  2. Sometimes I like to be in the same predicament you had with that wood stork: being too close to the subject, especially when they are birds. 🙂 I went to Alamy and the images you have there so far are outstanding, probably superior to many other stock photos Good luck with your new venture, but don’t forget the rest of us here!

    • Well being too close isn’t all bad though since it is an opportunity for a close up face shot with great detail of feathers, the eye, the lore etc. Just when you want that whole bird image and you can’t back up enough,then all you can do is try for a quick double shot catching parts of the bird. Sometimes that is easy and sometimes it is not so easy. Not so much because of the bird although the bird can move just enough to wreck it between frames sometimes. But, it can be all the leaves have to match up. Sometimes it just works without effort and other times you just have two shots that you cannot combine. Usually the one with the head might be more useful than the one without 🙂 !!

      Thanks for the Alamy comment. With stock you are trying to fill a need or provide something that someone else can make into their vision or purpose. So it is interesting thinking what would you do with it…card, calendar, nature magazine? Or is the bird face funny in someway that someone could apply the expression to some text. Kind of different than my usual thinking of what would make good wall art.

      When you post to a stock agency then you are providing things for their clients to choose form the payment share for direct sales ifs 50/50 and for those that happened through distribution then the contributor gets 30%. So I am looking for to seeing what happens and trying to provide nice quality things as best I can for someone to make use of.

      Wish me luck!! Will keep you posted.

  3. I keep thinking “this is a real dinosaur” when I see that wood stork picture. A reminder not to anthropomorphize birds too much.
    And I’m holding you responsible, Judy, for CP playing with color filters for their photographs. 😉

    • While I like to use color filters from time to time, I think our CP is very graphically inclined and in those creative directions. But, I am happy to give input on anything I know or do in the way of filters!!

      Yeah the woodstorks do look so ancient and prehistoric…like a real dinosaur in the whole bird vs reptile debates.

  4. Having just seen my first wood storks, this is a real treat. Believe me, it was good to read that you were close to the bird. I was such a distance away that this kind of detail probably would have been impossible even for you!

    I love the treatment — and of course it reminds me of Plato. There’s just something about a bird like this giving you that appraising look. It’s completely delightful.

    I’m not quite as negative as you seem to be about the heron. I think the photo does a beautiful job of presenting it as it would be in nature — a little hidden, a little hard to see, but just as compelling in its own way as the stork.

    • It is true that it is difficult to get great detail from distance shots. There you do get more context and scene oriented images…which can tell a more complete story than a portrait. I like portraits because the details of feather, and eyes, and skin and expression are just interesting to me. When I see Audubon’s drawings I can see he was fascinated by the detail too and everything looks the same today. So fun to compare his work with today’s detailed photography.

      Well the heron picture as captured was nice with the pneumatophores and everything just not very contrasty or colorful. This is where I feel I brought more life to it with LR than I had with PS treatments. But, then I find digital developing in either program can follow my mood….if I am tired I might not see things and then work another program on a different day when I am cooking along better. Hadn’t planned on playing with that image but was experimenting with LR and then ended up much happier.

      Glad you like the mood of it as the little bird was definitely hidden discreetly among the vertical ‘straws’ and hard to spot. Its colors blended nicely with mangrove colors.

  5. No, BB, Judy is not responsible for me using colour filters (all my own initiative). And Judy, this stork is fantastic, and I can’t see the join (but then my eyes are bleary too, having spent the day in creating some somewhat violently coloured altered images). But I can see what Brian means of the dinosaur image. Its neck is so leathery-looking. And you have captured that quality so well. As for the green heron, he looks like he’s sheltering from the hot sun! Magical.

    • Yeah it was a hot one the day I took the greenie picture. No wonder he was in the shade!!

      I have definitely been noticing all your art for the Mideer chapters. I love the round circles and the spectrum around the outside. The circles really make the designs within pop! I think the work is different, interesting and beautiful.

      Although the color filters were probably on some of those trees!! But, you are the artist all ’round!!

      • You are too generous, Judy. And no, I know what Brian was referring to. I wound him up by emailing a rather psychedelic version of Norwich cathedral. For photos in same vein (but flora rather than historic buildings), check out crimsonprose this coming Saturday when I post some ‘Altered Images’. BTW, the only thing I did to those trees (apart from cropping) was to adjust contrast, nothing more. The photos of the green witch tree and the blue really were those colours (once the contrast was adjusted)! And thank you for liking the Mideer chapter graphics. Result of me experimenting with psychedelic art, as is the revised header on my blog taken from the graphic I used for the ‘I cannot See’ poem.

      • Ahh, I thought one of those tree images was what Brian was referring to as it could have been a bi color filter or something of the like. Sometimes nature just gives you the colors but with all the tools today…who knows!!! So it is something I’ve yet to see!! I like the term ‘Altered Images” as it evokes a bit of mystery….sort of in a scary way!! Yeah I know..too much SciFi!

      • I think, perhaps, by intensifying the shadows in one photo, and the highlights in the other, I shifted the one tree into the blue spectrum, and the other into the green. But strictly speaking, no colour filters used. And I’m not sure you’d class these Altered Images are either scary of scifi, just . . . abstract, mostly.

      • Well it is always interesting with photos what colors are present which you might not have picked up on initially. When you adjust something it can reveal color that didn’t hit your consciousness right off. But it was there all along!!

      • Not so the ones I’m now preparing for Saturday. Get out your sunglasses. Here’s nature like you’ve never before seen it. Composition is everything, here.

      • Alrighty then….my shades are on the ready!!

  6. I love love love his feet, too. What legs he ! They are such prehistoric-looking creatures! I also love your post of the wood stork babies. Alamy looks like a very good choice for your work. I signed up a few years ago and then chickened out when reading their QC guidelines. Wishing you good luck and much success there. Your catalog of amazing birds should do very well there. Best, Babsje

    • Gosh I hope. With the zillions of photographs of my same subjects out there and many of them very nice, I am trying to choose ones that might stand out as being unique in some way or an extra nice example of what is being shown. The QC isn’t so bad really. Minimum file size is 17M uncompressed and the things they want to avoid are normal things to avoid like fringing or sensor dust spots or sloppy Photoshopping where you can see evidence of it. Just look at your images at 100% carefully and if you see nothing distracting you will be fine!!! They like Adobe 1998 for color space but I don’t think sRGB would be a deal killer on the upload. I think your bridge heron image would be a nice stock photo as I can see it on a book cover. I help my sister with romance book covers once in awhile and visualize things with a title and text over them. It has mood.

      Oh glad you dig the feet too!! Some people don’t understand why I like stuff like that!! And, what about that fly!! Is that not a bonus or what?

      • Cool thanks for the details re Alamy. You have enough wonderful works to make an entire fulltime career of curating and uploading! And about his feet, I noticed them right off the bat, even before reading the text of your post about them. (Yes, we are true bird geeks!) Working on book covers with your sister also sounds like a fun way to use your creative eye. Glad you like the old stone bridge image – it’s one of a series of 3 – so far. Maybe there will be more some day. Best, Babsje

      • Bird geek….I like that!! Too Tru!!!!

  7. Judy I love the bottom image it has such texture and shadow it sets a mood, truly beautiful good luck with getting your work out into the world its so unique and divine. Yes the feet on the woodstock are interesting and I get what makes you excited about an image and everyone is different. Thats the beauty of it all, we can see something different. My husband and I when we go on a photo day together, may take the same image and yet we both get a different perspective. Oh to be up so close.

    • Definitely a eye of the beholder thing. My hubby does not get why I like the baldy birds such as the wood stork or the roseate spoonbill. The one bird that had to grow on me though was not the adult anhinga but rather their little tremulous skinhead chicks. Now I think they are among the most interesting.

  8. Photo stock sites are amazing, but frustrating too. Love your second shot ~ brilliant image of a beautiful bird, and mostly like the incredible dynamic range within the bright blue sky, the heron, and the darks. Perfect 🙂

    • I’d truly imagine your images would do very well. Gosh, you have so many great one and ones hard to get. Hoping I have some useful things. Your comment is appreciated on the green heron image since I treated it a bit differently plodding through learning Lightroom. It also tells me that people do prefer color and contrast more than the dimness of my first image. I will definitely take that to heart in reworking the wood stork. I need to give it more life and still keep the time of day. Thanks for the input.

  9. I don’t think I’ve said before how much I love the main photo you use as the background for your site – the Egret with the huge tree that has the feel of a Louisiana bayou swamp that appears as the background with your menu options superimposed. It really is exquisite, painterly. Best, Babsje

  10. HELLLLO! It’s so wonderful to see you again. 🙂 You know how I love the gentlemen wood storks. They’re just so elegant. And I’m incredibly jealous that they’ve nested closer, so that you can get these gorgeous shots of them! I do love that filter / lighting effects on the green heron, though… It seems to make him that much more brilliant.

    p.s. – I can’t wait to explore this “Alamy” more! I took a quick peek, and WOW! I’ve never heard of it, but it looks pretty amazing… And you already have a lot in there! I hope it goes well for you!

    • YOU TOO!!!! Well on Alamy, I looked around and chose to start with them because they seem respectful of the photographers or contributors. The pricing seems more professional, not 1.00 or credits, but rather honest value for the images. It is hard in today’s whole micro stock world though and a world of excellent images out there. How to offer images that say have your own stamp on them or offer something unique and yet are the same subjects others may have put up… that is the thing to do. But, stock isn’t always about art, it is about commercial usefulness. So it will be a fun adventure which I hope offers some useful things to some people. Will keep you posted but meanwhile, take a look at what they do.

Leave a Reply

 
