A Nice Day at the Nest with Woodstork Fledglings

 

Woodstork Fledgling - Wingspread

Last year was the first season at Wakodahatchee that the Woodstork population set up housekeeping at the front pond apple tree island. This was due, I believe, to disturbance to the further out areas where they usually nest. Having missed most of the nesting season this year, I did have the opportunity to stop by the rookery on my way south from a visit to Merritt Island last week. I was delighted to find that the Woodstorks chose the same front island to nest build again this year and some fledglings were still hanging around their nests. I did not have my 300mm bird lens with me or even my small sensor camera for a telephoto boost, but took the opportunity to enjoy a beautiful sunny, summer afternoon watching birds. I did have my 5D and 100mm Macro lens with me and so tried that combination out for the first time in this locale and this application. The 100mm lens is a newer one of mine and  I haven’t used it much yet so this was a learning experience which paid off in getting more group shots of the nesting Woodstorks. Where I stood at this nesting island would have been too close for my 300mm to easily get all of the fully extended wingspread of these youngsters getting used to their beautiful fully feathered wings in one frame. I love doing portraits but it is nice to show the neighborhood too. Probably 200mm would have been about perfect for the day.

I loved the wingspread position of the Woodstork in the first picture and elected to treat it as a black and white to show the feather detail and stance better. I like those white feather flips next to the body of the bird…just like the whole natural design of bird wings. As you can see from the rest of the images, the leaves were lush and green as these young (but big) birds stood about on their platform of twigs looking quite chatty and amicable. No hint of any territorial disputes today!! Just everyone, including the photographer, being mellow!!

Fledgling Woodstork Wings Outstretched at Nest

 

Young Woodstork looking Amicable at the nest

 

Woodstork Siblings and Neighbors-Juvenile at Nest

 

Woodstork Fledglings at Nest

 

A Happy Summer to Everyone, May it Offer Many Adventures!!

Judy

~ by Judy on June 28, 2016.

18 Responses to “A Nice Day at the Nest with Woodstork Fledglings”

  1. Wow, Judy! These are amazing shots!

  2. These birds absolutely crack me up. They always remind me of the shoebill stork, which is an even funnier-looking bird. Your photos of “the kids” are so appealing. It does look like they’re just hanging out, enjoying the sunshine.

    Not so much, here. I just got run in by quite a thunderstorm complex, so I’ve got a while to catch up on some reading, and maybe do some more photo processing. I’d give anything for a macro lens right now. I brought home a little “treasure” from work that I haven’t gotten a decent photo of yet — but I’m working on it. But here’s a question, just for a tease: what’s left, after one damselfly eats another damsel fly?

    Don’t you wish you worked in my office?

  3. Back to back posts from you and CP: yes, it is a good start to the summer!

  4. Nicely done, I really like these, those birds are so expressive 🙂

    • I agree they really are expressive and fun to watch. You should see them eat!! A woodstork family consumes 440 some odd pounds of fish in one nesting season!!

  5. Ah, finally you get some closer glimpses of these guys in the wetlands! I just love that first image (and in b&w!). What a great portrait. I wish I was there!! I adore these gentlemen.

    • Well just a little taste of the wetlands for you!! I know you miss the place!! Happy to oblige with a few reminders. Any special requests? 🙂

  6. Very impressive Judy – they look very prehistoric 🙂

    • I agree, not a cute and refined species for sure. Well they can be cute…from expression anyhow. The forehead plate they develop, bald head, and flinty neck in the adults certainly give a sense of having been around a long time.

  7. Judy they are beautiful and it must feel like such a privilege to watch them in their own habitat. I wish I could see them in the flesh but your photos always are the next best thing. Thank you

    • Hey you are welcome!! Sorry for my tardy reply but so glad you came and look at the birds. I get the same thing with the photography of others, that is the beauty of WordPress…we have that vicarious hike through the lenses of others.

  8. Great series Judy ~ to see what you see, and to be able to take such crisp photos is a tremendous talent. Cheers to a great week ahead.

    • I am happy you enjoyed these youngsters. I use a 100mm macro lens with this shoot. My favourite for sharp quick focus is still the 300mm, but this 100mm is really good too. Haven’t used it all that much and unfortunately it took a hit dropping to the floor on the boat the other day. So far it works but that was bad.

      • Damaging photography equipment always brings a jump to my heart 🙂 Never fun, but a part of the process I say…

      • I know I was so mad at myself for leaving it in a precarious position. I just forgot it was a boat and stuff rolls off. Haven’t actually used it since and hope it is still ok. If it is says a lot for the manufacturing strength of the lens.

Leave a Reply

 
