Roadside Egrets under dark skies

Egrets and Friends along Banana River Drive, Merritt Island, FL under dark skies

December of 2015 was warmer and wetter than usual here in South Florida. So while these dark images might be consistent with winter gloom, for me they are more like the rains of summer out of place in the seasonal calendar!! Florida doesn’t often have winter gloom after all!! These images were taken along Banana River Drive in Merritt Island, Florida. I was returning home from a visit with my parents, who settled long ago into this very birdy region, when I saw a great grouping of birds by the side of the road. There were all kinds, wood storks, great egrets, snowy egrets, roseate spoonbills, white ibis….quite a gathering right there along the roadside! Naturally, I pulled off the road and marched boldly towards the cluster with my camera. While these are a departure from my affinity for close ups, I really loved the view of all these silhouetted shapes topping the trees with the dark clouds and bright white light behind them. It was visually interesting even though there was some internal whining about them being on the wrong side of the road with such bright light behind them. But, the shapes are elegant underneath the brewing storm and they are at home under skies gloomy or bright. I did treat these in black and white which was not a far stretch from the scene as it was. The image on the top was taken with a wide angle lens and the one below after I’d switched to my telephoto to bring them closer.

May 2016 bring blue skies and golden light and those days of grey gloom give us just a little artistic drama, nothing more!

Happy New Year!!

 

White Egrets under dark skies

Judy

~ by Judy on January 3, 2016.

23 Responses to “Roadside Egrets under dark skies”

  1. Stunning images.

  2. Judy, the first image is stunning and the second one vertical orientation make the egrets stand out perfectly. I am glad you decided to switch both to monochrome. The colored versions may be good also, but these seem somehow suited to the dark and stormy skies. Looking forward to reading your posts in 2016, and seeing more of your beautiful photos.

    • Ditto that…I really look forward to your 2016 writing and images too!! Do you have a book two in process after Village Teacher?

  3. Happy New Year Judy! These are wonderfully dramatic images, birds like strange fruit on the trees.

    • Yeah, it was so interesting to see so many birds and kinds perched in a row like that on the tree tops. It was really pretty to see in person. Happy New Year to you!!

  4. They look like tree ornaments!
    (So much for profundity on my part.)
    Happy new year!

  5. Beautiful photos, Judy! Happy New Year!

  6. May I just repeat what the others have said. After all, how many times and how many ways can I say it.

  7. Wow Judy, this is a great way to begin the first week of the New Year ~ such regal birds. Wish you a great 2016.

    • I never take for granted living in a place where it is not uncommon to see a big white bird flying around or intently fishing at some body of water!
      Happy 2016!!!!

  8. Beautiful photos, as always! Hope your New Year is off to a wonderful start!

  9. Judy, I’m completely entranced by those birds lined up atop the trees. I’ve never seen such a thing in real life, apart from one roseate spoonbill in Louisiana. Clearly, I need to get out more. I like both views, but I really think the top, wide-angle view is my favorite of the pair. It’s the combination of clouds and birds, I think. I always wonder (and sometimes worry — fruitless, I know) about how the birds cope during storms. Of course, apart from nesting time, they can just fly away. Wouldn’t that be handy, now and then?

    I hope 2016 is a good year for you: healthy,prosperous, and filled with wonderful photographic opportunities. I’m so looking forward to your new posts. They’re always such a delight!

  10. Wow they are so beautiful Judy Happy New Year to you.
    Kath

  11. Stunning pictures! All the best for you!

  12. Happy (albeit late) New Year! I just love these monochromes… And the scenes themselves. The blooms in the trees almost lend a snow-like appearance, but I don’t know if that’s the grey skies allowing that thought. Just lovely, though. 🙂

  13. What stunning pics, egrets against an angered sky. Glad you got the opportunity to see them and get the shots! I love the b+w, it captures the mood perfectly.x

Leave a Reply

 
