Juvenile Tricolor Heron aka Louisiana Heron

Juvenile Louisiana Heron

Compare this juvenile Tricolor Heron aka Louisiana Heron with the breeding adult by clicking HERE.  The two images were taken in nearly the same spot so maybe the adult is Mom or Dad to this juvenile.

The Louisiana Heron or more commonly known today as the Tricolor Heron remains one of my favourite subjects. While I probably have done a post too many on this dainty heron, I will probably do yet another if the occasion arises. Hard to pass up the ruby eyed adult or resist the personality of the young of this species as they scamper about the nesting colony. Sometimes they can really take over the place and often seem fearless in the presence of people!!

 

Young Tricolor Heron adopts comfortable pose on wooden beam

This youngster looks comfy with legs tucked under from its vantage point overlooking the wetland. White fluff on its bill is just evidence of recent time spent preening.

 

Juvenile Tricolor aka Louisiana Heron Face

I enjoy facial close ups of birds when I can get close enough for the expression and texture detail. Tricolor chicks sport spiky headfeathers early on, so what remains of those looks a tad uncouth!! But cute!

 

Juvenile Tricolor aka Louisiana Heron Face in Black and White

This one seemed to call for black and white to show the textures of feather, beak and eye with the lighting as it was.

Hard to believe that these were among the last of the young in the rookery for the 2015 nesting season. Now again the advent of Fall brings the promise of cooler, drier temps here in South Florida, and ushers in the beginnings of winter bird migrations into our area. Nature doesn’t stop for a minute, the cycle continues.

Judy

~ by Judy on October 14, 2015.

21 Responses to “Juvenile Tricolor Heron aka Louisiana Heron”

  1. Great photos, Judy 🙂 I really love the details you bring out.

    • That is good to hear. Sometimes I think I get a charge out of things…like those texture details…that maybe only I think is cool!! One of the fun things for me was looking at the close up views of Audubon’s work and seeing how he drew all those details so perfectly nearly 200 years ago. I didn’t get that until I started taking pictures of birds. Thanks so much for commenting.

  2. Wonderful post.

  3. I do love the colour of these herons. And they look so alert . . . and knowing. No wonder the folk-lore around them.

    • It is true…with all that personality…there should be a story!! Young tricolors really do have such a wide-eyed expression and look playful and inquisitive. They are really so much fun to watch even more than say Great Blue Heron juveniles who seem so much more reserved in comparison.

  4. Too bad they don’t come up our way. Beautiful shots!

    • Well you will have to come down our way!! Or even visit coastal Louisiana where Audubon saw and described them …hence Louisiana Heron!!

  5. Judy, Even though small, looks a bit intimidating! Great sequence, and historical perspective. Jack

    • Yes, this species, while dainty and lady like in its movements, is aggressive and known to go after the eggs of other herons. I have seen that.

  6. Such beautiful and sharp captures Judy ~ and the second shot I am mesmerized by the posture and eyes. Brilliant.

    • I am much appreciative of your visit and comment!! I really couldn’t resist taking a picture of the young bird sitting on that plank as he was. The bird appeared to be settled in and overlooking the wetlands around it. On the upper center of the picture you can see that one of its siblings was standing around behind him. Gotta love those yellowish greenish legs!

  7. Well, this was the morning Comcast decided to take another few hours off. Honestly… If we had another option, I’d choose it. But we don’t, so I consider it all an exercise in patience.

    Speaking of, I certainly have a new appreciation for your patience when it comes to capturing these images. The dragonfly I managed a capture of required a half hour. I don’t regret it, of course, but it’s obvious to me in a new way that these photos don’t just happen. Of course, taking a photo of rocks or trees requires waiting for light, etc. But rocks don’t move around a whole lot, and they usually can be found in the same place they were yesterday! Birds and other living creatures? Not so much.

    That second photo is so funny. It’s almost impossible to believe that’s comfortable, but I suppose if it weren’t, he’d try for something better. The whole series is wonderful!

    • With my travelling back and forth, I guess I am late in responding. I apologize!! Your observation is quite true though that one can spend an inordinate amount of time working on critter shots. There can be a lot of waiting and following involved. But, even inanimate objects can keep you occupied because the light changes. Right when you think you have exhausted the potential of something, the clouds part and the light is glorious and you retake the same shots because of it. But, when you get something you just really like, the time is just worth it!! I look forward to seeing your images too.

  8. The black and white photo rather makes me think the poor bird went through the washer and dryer and suffers from static cling! 🙂

    • I totally agree that the poor fellow does look quite bedraggled!! Luckily the uncouth appearance does become more elegant as he comes into his own. And will rather quickly I’d say!!

  9. I just love the textures and colors of these guys… And you have such beautiful captures of those features. And that resting pose of the juvie is fantastic! It reminds me of our dogs and cats, some of the crazy positions (comfortable?) they find themselves in.

    • LOL, that is true. I can remember my kids falling asleep in the funniest positions too!! The flexibility of youth!! Big Sigh……

  10. Judy the colours are amazing, such beautiful detail. One of your best.

Leave a Reply

 
