Easter Orchid

Cattleya Orchid - Art Treatment

I am calling my Cattleya orchid an Easter Orchid because I post it here with my wishes for a –

 Happy Easter !

According to Wikipedia there are three orchids called Easter Orchids and two of them are of the genus Cattleya. Otherwise I know little about the genus only that like many orchid species what was once beautiful and rare, thanks to modern methods is now beautiful and abundant. When I found a neighborhood man grows orchids as a sideline I could not resist acquiring the lovely plant with its twin blooms. The sweet fragrance was unexpected and a bonus added to having the lovely plant to photograph and look at.

The picture itself is one of a couple that I planned to work with out of the photos I took of it. My vision for this shot was to take the picture in morning light with the plant placed in front of a dark area of my house. That way the window light would illuminate the flowers and let the background drop to black. I also wanted it to look a little bit painterly so I gave it some artistic filtering and even threw in a tad of canvas texture onto the black background (although that maybe hard to see unless you view on an iPad where you can size it up and down). I hope you enjoy the treatment!

Because no prayer says it better I include again this Easter  Rev. Peter Marshall’s thoughtful prayer which opened the Senate Session the Thursday before Easter Sunday in 1948 with my wishes for a wonderful Easter Sunday.

 

Thursday, March 25, 1948

Lord Jesus, Saviour of the World, in Thy holy name we join our hearts in prayer.

This week, as we remember all Thou didst endure for us, we may be sure Thou hast not forgotten. For we will not let thee forget.

With every sin of ours, we renew the pain Thy heart did know. Every time we ignore Thee, forget Thee, and heed not Thy way, we revive for Thee the loneliness Thou didst feel and the spiritual blindness that broke Thy heart.

O Lord, give us Thy grace that we may not crucify Thee afresh, but, loving Thee keep Thy commandments.

With a steady faith that Thy kingdom will yet be established upon the earth, help us to hasten its coming by letting Thee work in us and through us to do Thy will.
Amen.

Judy

~ by Judy on April 4, 2015.

8 Responses to “Easter Orchid”

  1. Orchids are so beautiful, almost like porcelain Judy. Love the colours and a happy easter to you.

    • I can see that. I think the heavy textures of orchid blooms and leaves with lighting that pulls it away from the background does give it that kind of look.

  2. Absolutely beautiful!

    • Oh, thanks for visiting and commenting on the pretty flowers. I do love orchids and should encourage developing a green thumb so I can have photo subjects more often 🙂

  3. I read this at Easter — how did I not comment? I must have clicked into another page and sent your post to the bottom of the heap. In any event, I trust your Easter Day was as lovely as this orchid. I’m really rather surprised by it. I’ve never thought of orchids as ruffley! As a matter of fact, I’ve never thought of them having fragrance, either. Clearly, I don’t know much about orchids!

    Now, off to see your second offering of this beauty!

    • Oh, I am behind in a number of things myself!! Until I saw the big brother of this orchid plant, I never thought of them as ruffley either….only like the Phalaenopsis you see at the grocery store. Nor did I know any orchids had fragrance. The Cattleya are very sweet and add a nice scent to a room. I understand that cattleya are often the choice for corsages and I have vague remembrance of such a corsage, I think.

      • Ah, ha! I do remember those corsages. They were the special ones we bought for Mother’s Day at church. 😉

      • LOL, right!! Funny all the information we have in our brains which sits there until something happens to recall it!

Leave a Reply

 
