“That’s some tree!”……said my Dad!

Maternal Tree Overlooking Graves at the Atlanta Cemetery

 ♦

The reverence expressed in Kilmer’s classic and much loved poem seems to fit this tree in the Atlanta Cemetery. Even without the unintended results of pruning, a tree has a maternal presence; and, here seems to watch over earth’s children laid to rest in this place.

“TREES”

I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the sweet earth’s flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.

Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.

By Joyce Kilmer

The summer of 2006, I visited my son Dave and his family in Atlanta. Lynda Haviland, my novelist sister, was working on the draft of her first book, Immortal Dynasty. At that early stage I envisioned getting her an evocative image of a really cool crypt…maybe even something with some Egyptian Symbols for a book cover design befitting her paranormal romance.   So instead of going to normal places like Stone Mountain, Dave took me to explore the historic Atlanta Cemetery.  While I did find a monument with Egyptian symbols…though not a crypt…it was this Maternal Tree which stole the day for me.

I have been working on my Janthina Images Galleries in order to modernize the website (not yet…old site still up…new site in process).  In the process of organizing, I came across  my old gallery post there of the Watchful Tree.  Seeing it brought back memories of a truly marvelous visit to one of the most beautiful cemeteries in the country.  The maternal solicitude this tree expresses evokes a sense of spirituality and protection of Mother Earth over its children. And, yet there is that other thing!!

 When I asked Dad what he thought of the tree in the Atlanta Cemetery,  with the proverbial twinkle in his eye, he merely said,

“That’s some tree!”

 

Closer View of our Maternal Tree at Atlanta Cemetery

Wishing Everyone a Wonderful Summer!!

Judy

~ by Judy on June 28, 2014.

12 Responses to ““That’s some tree!”……said my Dad!”

  1. That is, indeed, some tree. I love those ‘eyes’ (or are they the Mother’s Breasts’?)

    • I have another image of a watchful tree that does look exactly like it has an eye…should share that one too since it is so unusual. In fact, after I saw the eye on the computer I went back to the same tree to see if I could see the eye with my naked eye….and knowing what to look for I saw it! However, my maternal tree posted here has breasts beneath the extended arms….an accident of pruning I am sure. I wonder what the tree looks like now after all these years!!

  2. What a fabulous image of a truly beautiful tree. And yes, there is that “maternal” image that adds a little interest. No wonder your dad’s eyes twinkled!

    Have you ever seen the image of the dancing tree that was making the rounds a few years ago? From what I’ve been able to find, it wasn’t photoshopped.

    The dancing tree’s lovely and graceful, but yours has time and history on her side. And what a perfect tree to accompany Kilmer’s poem.

    I’m all admiration for you, working on a revised site and going through files and all that. I need to do the same. I’m happy with my template, but I’m losing track of things. More organization, she cried!

    • The site I am trying to modernize is my Janthina Images photo gallery site as it did seem very dated when I looked at the new designs offered. I do not feel terribly compelled to redo this WordPress Blog as I still do like it. And, Task at Hand is a wonderful looking site, I often admire and appreciate the colors, the background choice for the text and your many little flourishes and side bar decoration and icons. It is well put together, no worries!!

      Soon, I’ll launch my new look on the other site and look forward to that.

  3. What a fascinating, and fantastic tree to guard over the precious resting places! I just love Atlanta’s ancient trees — and maternal is a perfect description for this old soul.

    • Hmm perhaps next time you are there, you could visit the very tree!! Let me know and I’ll try and get you to the right spot.

      • Ohhhh what a great idea!! And I can take another picture for you! 🙂

      • THAT would be too cool! I’ll have to ask my son for sure which cemetery since I realize more than one might be called the Atlanta Cemetery.Then with my pics of nearby monuments can say whose it was next too and also enlarge those stones around the tree for names.

  4. Can never get enough of Tree’s beautiful.

    • I agree!! We seem to gravitate toward compelling natural elements…like trees..and clouds…and the sea. Maybe it is how they change, move, or rustle in the wind that mesmerizes and comforts.

  5. Quite a few men have probably been drawn to the shape of this tree….and some probably don’t even know why. It is, without a doubt, provocative!

Leave a Reply

 
