Egretta tri-color, a Lady in Waiting

Tri-color Heron (Louisiana Heron) Arranges Twigs in Nest with 3 blue eggs

 The “Lady of the Waters” (Audubon’s lovely nickname for the Louisiana Heron) is truly a ‘Lady in Waiting’ as she minds her nest of three baby blue eggs. Patiently tending the nest, she endured the hot afternoon sun filtering through the shaded privacy of her pond apple tree nest, got up and changed position several times, and relentlessly shook the twigs shaping the nest ensuring  a sturdy cradle. While I am uncertain when the eggs were laid, perhaps in three weeks or so new little tri-color herons will make their way out their shells.

Nesting Tri-color Face_5772-wp-s-2

Tri-color Heron (Louisiana Heron) tending eggs at nest

Tri-color Heron (Louisiana Heron)-nest sitting

Nesting Louisiana Heron - nest sitting with backside aigrettes

-THE END –

hmmm……message to us paparazzi!!

🙂  Judy

~ by Judy on April 5, 2014.

11 Responses to “Egretta tri-color, a Lady in Waiting”

  1. Such intimate looks of the Lady in Waiting! Great captures!

    • Oh, thanks for taking a peek of my Lady of the Waters!! Seeing birds in their nest is special really. I agree that it is an intimate view peeking in between the branches into the dappled light of the pond apple tree at a bird minding its eggs. Hope to show more next visit!!

  2. Tremendous shots of Mrs. Tri!

  3. I think, Judy, you are just showing off your magnificent new lens. But do continue. These shots are fantastic. Though they surely are taken at a good distance, it’s like you are here peeping toms, right on top of them.

    • I do think the new lens has improved my ability to get great detail at 300mm. I worked hard with my zoom at 300mm but struggled for the percentage of sharpness and clarity I like best. This lens is consistently more clear and my main worries are just with getting enough depth field…or at least what I like. And, of course, holding it still. LOL!!

      Oh, I did want to say that this year at the rookery due to some disruption to some more distant clusters, the egrets including this one, have built nests much closer in. So I was darned close to this nest…enough to be a challenge to fit the whole adult bird in the frame either sitting or standing. Funny, that I have this fortune of closer in nests when I am not using a zoom lately.

  4. I looked at the first picture and wondered how you’d given the heron instructions in how to pose. 🙂

    • I always give instructions, muttering away as I do to encourage them to lift their faces above or beneath a leaf or branch or come out into better light. But mostly you have to watch and wait and be ready when what you see is what you want.

      Super you like the pose…thanks so much!!

  5. This whole series is just wonderful. Being able to have such views of this lovely bird is a real gift – worth every minute you’ve spent there, and more.

    I did have to laugh at your comment about camera “shake”. I experienced that problem last weekend, as I was trying to photograph a little frog about 20 feet away. It was only an inch or perhaps an inch and a half long, and that was quite a distance, so my little point-and-shoot’s zoom came in handy. But my goodness! “Tripod,” I thought. “This is why people use tripods.” Apparently my camera tries to help me out, though. I’d never paid any attention to the words printed around the lens: “image stabilizer”.

    Again, these photos are just magnificent. And yes – that may be a gesture to the paparazzi!

    • I look at having proximity to the nesting birds as a gift too. Very lucky!!

      Right about the tripod being the stabilizer when distance if involved. I don’t use them shooting birds since I never have mastered keeping up with all the movement that way. Slows me down and hampers me instead of helping. So I try to be careful and push the button and not move the camera with it. Saw a guy in a Canon video about the 300mm lens and he was swinging the camera around with one hand. Well if I hold a steady as I can and be really careful without image stabilization on, it still moves. Turn on IS and it tightens right up!! Thank goodness for that technology!!

      You did fantastic on your green frog at 20 feet though!! Saw your lovely post!!

Leave a Reply

 
