Big Cypress Swamp – a tranquil haven

Big Cypress Scene with Snowy Egret

Cypress branches stretch out over still swamp waters as a snowy egret enters the scene.

The Big Cypress Preserve, Florida offers tranquil scenes of swamp life.  Cypress trees never fail to enchant my sense of things with the many textures they offer along their wide, moisture drenched bases and interesting shapes of the cypress knees rising out of the surrounding waters.  Today I have just selected a few scenes that are home to white egrets, little blue herons, and snowy egrets. Seeing these images again, calls me to get out of my current state of inaction to see what is new in my favourite haunts. I greatly look forward to the promises of fall!!

♦ 

Big Cypress Swamp - White Egret Strolls Past Little Blue Heron

A white egret strolls by as a curious looking little blue heron stands in the background.

Little Blue Heron at Big Cypress Swamp

Little Blue Heron stands amid cypress knees, aquatic greenery, and a lone golden leaf wondering what I am doing there?

Big Cypress - Swamp Scene with logs

Big Cypress is filled with scenes like this one of cypress and fallen logs decaying into the matter of the swamp.

Big Cypress - Snowy Egret

Snowy Egret concentrates on prey beneath the water’s reflective surface, poised against an  interestingly textured cypress tree base. I particularly liked the formation of that tree base.

Big Cypress Preserve - Snowy Egret

Gary Snyder, American Poet, Ecology Philosopher

“Nature is not a place to visit, it is home.”

As Ever,

Judy

~ by Judy on September 7, 2013.

13 Responses to “Big Cypress Swamp – a tranquil haven”

  1. Wow These are outstanding! You know how I love a good swamp!
    That third shot particulalry of the LBH is fantastic!

    • The little blue does have that personality factor!! I was actually watching the white egret and after it strolled by I saw the little blue looking right at me next to those nice cypress knees. So I had to take his pic.

  2. I’m so fond of the blue heron, particularly that inquisitive look. The last two, reflective photos are gorgeous, too. I think the cypress are so amazing. Is the water level normal in these photos? Or are there seasons when the water will be significantly higher or lower?

    • Well the water level was normal I would say, although you can see it fluctuated lower by the higher wet water marks on the base of the tree. Cypress trees actually don’t do to well if their feet are submerged continually. The need dry spells to stay healthy. When I visited my sister in Louisiana we took a little boat ride to Alligator Bayou. The vista of dead and dying cypress trees was a stark and dramatic one as they had rerouted part of the Mississippi River which permanently flooded that cypress forest. I do understand something has changed there and that the diversion may have been changed back. But, last I heard Alligator Bayou does not exist anymore. This I would have to check out to see its current status for sure.

  3. The swamp is a beautiful place although both dangerous and difficult to access. All the more these pictures stand out, they show the beauty and diversity of the swamp. I love them all, but the favourite has to be the blue heron.

    • Truthfully, I tend to skirt the edges of things not always having the protective gear to wander off into the depths of the swamp. In the coming season I do look forward to more planned excursions to the less accessible areas though. Sometimes the scene is not so different, but the sense of advernture certainly is!!

      I enjoyed getting the shot of the Little Blue Heron since his personality was so over the top. And, I am a sucker for cypress knees and lone leaves too!!

      Thanks for taking a look at these…appreciated!!

  4. These pictures here, they seem like a gateway, an entrance to another world. A world of serenity. I sigh. Oh that I could go there one day.

    • Sometimes standing by those scenes makes you want to wander further in!! Maybe sometime you’ll plan a trip to Florida and visit the Big Cypress Swamp. If you did I’d direct you to Clyde Butcher’s Gallery where they offer swamp walks on some weekends. Its a good intro to the environment.

      • Any snakes? I have a tendency to stand on them and even our local adder is venomous.

      • ‘Four species of venomous snakes – the Eastern Diamondback Rattlesnake, Dusky pigmy rattlesnake, Water Moccasin (Cottonmouth), and Coral Snake- live in south Florida.’ You have to be observant. I have been in the water on guided swamp walks but for serious walk in’s I need to get some good boots first! I guess I do worry about running into a moccasin but have yet to see one.

      • Years of walking, I’d not seen one of our rare adders. Then one unseasonably warm October, strutting away. not really thinking of snakes . . . it did give warning. It was too sluggish to strike. Since then it seems where ever I go around the Broads, there they are waiting for me. Keeping ever alert takes some of the pleasure off the walk. But I have to say, the male is quite attractive, all glossy and black. Though the female looks like some elongated, legless toad. It gives me the heebies. But a moccasin, from what I’ve read, they’re nasty. I think thigh-high boats, and leather jacket! Yea, I’m a coward.

  5. Ah, such lovely images… It’s been ages since I’ve been to Big Cypress! Such a wonderful, sublime area.

Leave a comment